Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

2017 National Schoolboy Champions


Keebra Park State High School have been crowned the national schoolboys champions following their win over Westfields Sports in the GIO Cup national final on Wednesday.

The Gold Coast team started well, scoring the first try of the game through winger Jonathan Siofele – but let in two tries to fall behind midway through the half.

A try from Ioane Seiuli just before the break saw them get back into the game and they went into halftime trailing 12-10.

However, an immense second half defensive effort saw Keebra Park hold out their opposition, keeping them scoreless for the remainder of the game, while crossing for three tries of their own.

Queensland representative half Tanah Boyd slotted a field goal in the 55th minute for good measure as his team stitched up the game to secure the title for the 2017.

Keebra Park captain David Fifita capped off a difficult year which saw him plagued by injuries with a well-earned player of the match award.

*Head to the GIO Cup Facebook page for some highlights from the match and more info about the game --> NRL Schoolboys Facebook

GIO Cup National Final 2017

Keebra Park SHS 25 (Jonathan Siofele, Ioane Seiuli, Paul Karaitiana, Damion Dumas, (TBC) tries; Tanah Boyd 2 goals, Tanah Boyd field goal) def Westfields Sports 12 (Joel Saldaneri, Jake Averillo tries; Jake Alvrillo 2 goals) at Leichhardt Oval on Wednesday, September 6.  HT: Westfields Sports 12 – Keebra Park 10

Peter Sterling Medal (man of the match): David Fifita (Keebra Park) 

Darren Hart, Rugby League Coach